NBC revokes licenses of Ray Power FM, Silverbird TV, 50 other stations

Director-General of NBC, Malam Balarabe Ilelah, made the disclosure at a news conference on Friday, August 19, 2022, in Abuja.

By Deborah Hassan

365Daily – The National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has announced the revocation of the licenses of Africa Independent Television (AIT) and its radio counterpart, Ray Power FM, both ofDAAR Communication Ltd., that of Silverbird TV Network and 50 others stations over N2.6 billion debt.

Director-General of NBC, Malam Balarabe Ilelah, made the disclosure at a news conference on Friday, August 19, 2022, in Abuja.

He, therefore, ordered that the affected stations should be shut down in the next 24 hours by NBC offices nationwide, in collaboration with security agencies.

According to him, in May 2022, the commission published in the national dailies, the list of licensees that that are indebted to NBC, alongside a two week notice to renew their licenses and pay their debts or consider their licenses revoked, frequencies withdrawn.

He contined: “Three months after the publication, some licensees are yet to pay their outstanding debts, in contravention of the NBC Act CAP N11, laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004, particularly section 10 (a) of the third schedule of the Act.

“In view of this development, the continued operation of the debtor stations is illegal and constitutes a threat to national security.

“Therefore, after due consideration, the NBC hereby announces the revocation of the licenses of the under-listed stations and give them 24 hours to shutdown their operations,” he said.

Ilelah said that the other stations affected were Zuma FM, Suleja, Niger State; Bomay Broadcasting Service Ltd. and Kogi, Kwara, Niger, Gombe, Lagos, Osun, Ogun, Ondo and Rivers States Broadcasting Corporations and Stations.

Katsina Broadcasting Corporation, Kaduna State Broadcasting Corporation, Jigawa Broadcasting Corporation, Kebbi State Broadcasting Corporation, Zamfara State Broadcasting Corporation and Yobe State Broadcasting Corporation were also listed.

Also affected are Imo State Broadcasting Corporation, Anambra State Broadcasting Corporation, Cross River State Broadcasting Corporation, Bayelsa State Broadcasting Corporation, Borno State Broadcasting Corporation and Crowther FM, Abuja.

He urged all broadcast stations who have not renewed their licenses for the current duration to do so within the next 30 days to avoid sanctions.

Furthermore, he directed all Internet Protocol Television and all other broadcast stations that are streaming online to register with the commission to avoid disconnection.

He warned broadcasters that having a DTT or FM license doesn’t confer rights to stream online as they require two different licenses.


Spread the love

Leave a Reply